Page 54 - Demo
P. 54

Appendix A: Types of Child Care Settings in California
Child Care Center (CCC). Provides care for infants, toddlers, preschoolers, and/or school-age children all or part of the day. These facilities may be large or small and can be operated independently by nonprofit organizations or for- profit companies, or by churches, school districts, and other organizations. Most are licensed by the California Department of Social Services (DSS), Community Care Licensing (CCL). For licensed CCCs, information on requirements can be found at the Community Care Licensing Division’s web site at: Click on “Title 22 Regulations.”
Licensed Family Child Care Home. Family Child Care (FCC) means regularly provided care, protection and supervision of children, in the caregiver’s own home, for periods of less than 24 hours per day, while the parents or authorized representatives are away. Care offered in the home of the provider, often a parent. Small family child care homes have one provider and can accept up to eight children, depending on their ages. Large family child care homes have two adults and can take up to 14 children, depending on their ages. Care is often provided for children of different ages. The homes are licensed by CDSS/CCL. See Title 22 regulations at the Community Care Licensing Division’s web site at:
License-Exempt Child Care. Many child care providers are license-exempt (both home- and center-based), including: An individual provider who cares only for his/her relatives, an individual provider who only cares for the children of one other family (other than the provider’s own children, if he or she has any children), cooperative agreements (Co-ops) in which parents share responsibility for child care, public recreation programs, and before- and after-school programs run by schools. Other categories of license exempt programs can be found in Health and Safety Code § 1596.792.4 6
     Improving Health in Child Care Settings: 2016 50

   52   53   54   55   56